FG Declares Friday, June 12 As Public Holiday To Mark Democracy Day.


In commemoration of 2020 Democracy day, the Federal Government has declared Friday, June 12 as public holiday.

Former Governor of Osun State and current Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Adesoji Aregbesola, made the declaration on behalf of the Federal Government on Monday, June 8.

In a statement signed by the permanent secretary of the Ministry of Interior, Ms. Georgina Ehuriah, the minister urged Nigerians to cherish the selfless efforts of President Buhari and collaborate with him in his efforts to uphold the tenets of democracy in Nigeria.

“The Federal Government has declared Friday, June 12 as public holiday to mark this 2020 Democracy Day.

“Ogbeni Aregbesola called on all Nigerians to continue to cherish these selfless efforts and collaborate with the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration to ensure the realization of the democratic ideals which the patriots fought for, even at the cost of their lives.

“The Minister who reassured Nigerians of the Federal Government’s commitment to battling the scourge of COVID-19 with the cooperation of all Nigerians, advised them further, to take responsibility for stopping the spread of the virus.” The Statement read.


Comments are closed.