APC Faces Constitutional Crisis as Two Acting National Chairman Surfaces


According to Section 14.2. (iii),of the APC constitution, the Deputy National Chairman, North/South “Shall act as the National Chairman in the absence of the National Chairman from his zone”.


The All Progressives Congress has two Deputy National Chairmen, Sen. Lawal Shaibu and Sen. Abiola Ajimobi. Both are in charge of North and South respectively.


Following the suspension of Adams Oshiomhole as the National Chairman of the party which was upheld in the Appeal Court on Tuesday. It is expected that Sen. Abiola Ajimobi acts as the National Chairman considering the fact that they are from the same zone.


However, Chief Victor Giadom, the Deputy National Secretary of the All Progressives Congress, APC,  has revolted against the appointment of Abiola Ajimobi as the acting National Chairman of the party.


He insisted that the order of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT High Court issued on March 16, 2020 by Hon. Justice S.U Bature in Suit No. FCT/HC/M/6447/2020 on 16th March, 2020 remains valid. The order stated that Chief Victor Giadom is to act as the National Chairman of the party following the suspension of Oshiomhole.


Since the Court of Appeal upheld the order of suspension, he insisted that the order regarding him being the acting National Chairman Chief Victor be implemented.


However, considering the health status of Ajimobi, He may not be able to step in the office for now as he is said on admission in an undisclosed hospital.


In his absence who acts instead? Chief Hillary Ettah who is the National Vice-Chairman (South-south)? Chief Victor Giadom? Or Sen. Lawal Shaibu who is from a different zone?



Sources :



Comments are closed.